Bike to Work – June 11

Bike to Work – June 11

Originally uploaded by plounsbury.

7th day of the “Bike to Work” contest being held by Rock ‘n Road Cycle.

The one thing I know for sure is that I definitely have the wrong kind of bike for doing this commute thing. Some people have even been so kind as to point that out for me. Thank you.

It’s a middle-of-the-road Trek mountain bike that I’ve had for a few years now, mostly for riding around town a few miles here and there, which was really all I had intended it to do. But now that I’ve gone stupid and started riding to Holland, the difference between a mountain bike and a road bike is becoming painfully (literally) clear. One of the things I’m thinking about doing is slapping some road tires on instead of those big knobbies. Only thing is, will the difference in the ride be worth $60? Or should I hold out until I win this bike? 🙂

Today’s numbers:

  • 38.3 miles
  • Average speed: went up to 12.78 today!

Another good day, really cool in the morning, really hot in the afternoon. I still managed to keep the same time though, even with the extra 5 miles added on each way. Also, my ass is hurting somewhat less. In case you were wondering.

One Response to Bike to Work – June 11

  1. Adrian says:

    If you’re going to ride your mountain bike on the road, go for road tyres, they will make a lot of difference! They’ll also save you wearing away expensive off-road tyres on the tarmac.

    The last lot I’m using are GEAX street-runners, seem well worth the $25AU that I pay for them.

Leave a Reply

