Bike to Work – June 05

Bike to Work – June 05

Originally uploaded by plounsbury.

3rd day of the “Bike to Work” contest being held by Rock ‘n Road Cycle.

Pretty uneventful both ways today. A little windy on the way home but not as bad as yesterday.

Todays numbers:

  • 30.77 miles
  • Average speed is still hovering right around 12 mph
  • Rode a little faster today each way, cut about 5 minutes off of my normal time.

And now, a really obvious piece of advice.
Keep your chain clean. I hadn’t thought much of it until I started doing this commute thing, but I developed a really annoying squeaking sound on the way home. So tonight I scrubbed the chain and sprockets down with a toothbrush and some warm soapy water, then lubed everything with some teflon lubricant I picked at VeloCity in downtown Holland ($5 for a 4 oz. bottle). And now? it’s like I’m riding a brand new bike.

Also, my ass hurts. And so do my eyes. Other than that, I’m still doing OK.

Leave a Reply

